The divorce process is controlled by strict laws and guidelines. Married couples can only separate if they follow these guidelines as required and fill in the right forms. Unfortunately, even uncontested divorces can be challenging, which is why it’s always a good idea to hire professionals for the job.
At The Divorce Center, we have experienced and professional paralegal experts who can help you with all aspects of this process. We have been in this industry for over 37 years and have handled more than 200,000 uncontested divorce cases so you can trust us to do this job well.
Difference Between Contested and Uncontested New Jersey Divorce
Divorce proceedings can be broadly classified into contested and uncontested. Both of these options require different approaches and forms. Here’s a look at the difference between both of these options:
- Contested Divorce – Contested divorce is a case that requires intervention from an impartial third party because the couple involved couldn’t come to a satisfactory agreement. This is a long and complicated process, which is why legal experts and divorce lawyers always encourage clients to settle their differences out of court.
- Uncontested Divorce in New Jersey – This is a much simpler and quicker process because both parties involved have come to a reasonable agreement on matters related to child custody, property and assets, child support, and spousal support. Because both parties agree, there’s no need for a judge to act as mediator, which means the divorce is granted
Cases can also be divided into fault-based and no-fault divorces. No-fault divorces are more convenient because you don’t have to provide a specific reason for the separation. You can file it under irreconcilable differences. People can apply for this divorce if they have been separated for more than 18 months and there’s no hope for reconciliation.
A person can apply for a fault-based divorce immediately, even if they haven’t moved away from their spouse. The grounds for divorce range from physical and mental cruelty to adultery. Our expert paralegals will help you identify the fault and arrange for appropriate paperwork for it.
What Do You Need to Know About Uncontested Divorce NJ?
This divorce process is favorable but it is important to make sure you know what’s involved. Our paralegal professionals will explain the process, paperwork, forms, and similar aspects of the process carefully so you can make an informed decision. Here are some of the most important factors you should know:
- A divorce is only considered uncontested if both spouses agree on provisions for custody and child support. Spouses must also agree on provisions for division of property and financial assets.
- A person or both spouses should be the resident of New Jersey for at least a year to apply for a divorce here. If neither spouses can fulfill the condition, they must file the case with their previous state court.
- Uncontested divorces don’t require a court appearance in New Jersey unless there are children involved. Couples with children must attend a short court session that lasts for about 15 minutes. During this time, the court will look over the custody/child support arrangements and make sure both parents understand their respective obligations well.
- The process takes around 4 to 8 weeks if both parties consent to the divorce and sign all required paperwork. If one party doesn’t respond promptly, the process can stretch for an additional 3 to 4 weeks.
An uncontested divorce is quick and doesn’t cause a lot of stress. It has a positive impact on the relationship of separating spouses and ensures children aren’t too affected by the process.
One of the most important benefits of an uncontested divorce is the cost. Our rates are competitive so you don’t have to spend thousands of dollars on this process. The base price is $399 and includes all the necessary paperwork. The court will need more forms if you have children or property, which requires more time and effort to fill out. This service costs $499 and includes all paperwork.
Our rates don’t include any court fees or additional assistance you might require. Court fees add up to $300 and must be paid directly to the court. This means you don’t even need to spend a thousand dollars on your uncontested divorce. However, it is important to remember that any conflicts and long negotiations in the presence of a legal professional will cost money. Divorce lawyers will charge on an hourly basis, which can add to your cost burden.
Steps Involved in Uncontested Divorce in NJ
The proceeding will only go smoothly if all paperwork, forms, and information are in order. It is important to take a systematic approach to uncontested divorce to ensure there are no errors. Here’s a look at the different steps involved in this process:
- Collecting Information – This is the most important aspect of applying for a divorce. You must consider all the issues that need to be addressed like personal details, financial records, current addresses, etc. All of this information is passed on to the paralegal so they can fill Divorce Forms NJ
- Negotiations – Paralegal experts might offer advice but they are often not involved in this part of the divorce proceedings. It’s important to complete all your negotiations before filing paperwork. Discuss factors like property, retirement funds, children, child support, spousal support, etc., in detail and tie up all the loose
- Filing Paperwork – Paralegals prepare and file paperwork after all the negotiations are complete. The forms include Summons, Complaint, Certification of Insurance for children, and a Case Information Document. Once the paperwork is filed, the court will provide a date for the default judgment.
- Serving – Once all paperwork is filed, we send all necessary forms to your spouse. At this point, the spouse cans simply sign the forms and return them, file an Appearance, or file their own Case of Information based on their interest and requirements.
- Judgment – The clock starts ticking the moment your spouse is served. The court will provide a default judgment 35 days after we file the paperwork. After that, the court reviews all the paperwork and delivers a final judgment on the case. This process takes a little time if there are children or property involved.
This process varies based on the nature of your divorce, personal circumstances, and your county location. Our paralegal team will tailor their services according to your requirements, which ensures the entire divorce process goes smoothly.
Uncontested Divorce Forms NJ
All legal processes, including uncontested divorces, require a significant amount of paperwork and forms. The volume and nature of the paperwork vary based on your personal circumstances but here’s a look at the different forms required:
- Summons with Notice
- Verified Complaint
- Notice of Authentic Orders
- Affirmation of Regularity
- Affidavit of Service
- Child Support Worksheet
- Qualified Medical Child Support Order
- Affidavit of Defendant
- Support Collection Unit Information Sheet
- Part 130 Certificate
- Notice of Entry
- Certificate of Dissolution of Marriage
These are just some of the many New Jersey divorce forms required by the court. Our paralegal experts have worked in this industry for a very long time and know what kind of paperwork your particular case needs.
Why Choose Us?
There are several divorce centers and companies in New Jersey but finding the right one will ensure you have a smooth experience. Inexperienced professionals can make mistakes, cause delays, and even compromise your interests. Here are some reasons why we are a good choice:
- We are a large company that has handled over 200,000 cases in the past. This ensures we can help you with all aspects involved in the process easily.
- Our team collects all required divorce papers NJ based on your special circumstances.
- We have a well-trained and modern staff that will ensure all work is carried out without any
- All our work is fully guaranteed so you don’t have to worry about the results.
- We offer Divorce by Mail services so you don’t have to travel to our office on a regular basis. You can send all the needed information through emails and we will handle the rest. You will only have to visit our office once or at the court.
- We can arrange for a sheriff to deliver the paperwork to your spouse. The sheriff will charge a small fee of $25 to $50 depending upon where they live.
- With us, you get trustworthy services from experienced professionals. We don’t provide faulty information that can compromise your interests.
If you need a legal professional you can trust and don’t want to spend thousands of dollars on a divorce, we can help.
If you want to know more about our services at The Divorce Center, don’t hesitate to call us on 1 800 762 311 for New Jersey and 1 800 414 0333 for New York or contact us through our contact form. The team will be happy to help you in every way possible.